Yoga - Meditation - Ayurvedic
  • nl
  • en
  • de
  • fr

Yoga forms and styles

There are many forms of yoga, but there are six schools that traditionally practiced in India, these are: hatha, bhakti, jnana, karma and yoga mantra. Raja yoga encompasses all such aforementioned forms of yoga and therefore is known as the Royal yoga path. The other forms are derived through the ages from the traditional schools.
Worldwide there are more than thirty practiced yoga forms. Approximately 3,000 years ago, Patanjali as "father" of yoga that converted to the Eightfold Path. Among these eight steps is what to do in life. Yoga means connection, everything is in communication, therefore, is substantially to name all under yoga.



Yoga means "compound" or are "in association". Yoga focuses from the individual to the whole, the connection and ignores the individual consciousness to achieve unity experience. Everything is all in "connection". It awaits association "Peace". 


Yoga has three original main forms:

  • Bhakti yoga  focuses on surrender to the divine.
  • Jnana yoga  mostly sees the importance of gaining knowledge.
  • Karma yoga  focuses on the expression of yoga in action in everyday life.


Detailed information about  hatha yoga ,  bhakti yoga ,  jnana yoga ,  karma yoga  and  mantra yoga